Home / Columns / Illegal to walk and text in New Jersey?

Illegal to walk and text in New Jersey?

Written by Kayla Stroud, SpecTech Editor

Texting and driving has been illegal for years, but now texting and walking might also book you a two week stint in a jail cell.

A New Jersey lawmaker introduced a bill that, if passed, would make it illegal to walk the streets with a cell phone glued to your face.

According to CBS2, offenders could either face a $50 fine, or spend 15 days behind bars.

“If a person on the road — whether walking or driving — presents a risk to others on the road, there should be a law in place to dissuade and penalize risky behavior” Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt, who helped support the bill, said in an interview with Huffington Post.

New Jersey already has a distracted driving ban in place where offenders would have to pay upwards $400 for the first infraction. So this bill seems a tad excessive.

“An individual crossing the road distracted by their smartphone presents just as much danger to motorists as someone jaywalking and should be held, at a minimum, to the same penalty,” said Lampitt.

Sure, whatever you say Pam.

Check Also

Editorial: Judge’s abortion decision a step forward for Georgia women

On Tuesday, Nov. 15, Fulton County Superior Court Judge Robert McBurney ruled Georgia’s ban on ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *